The Unfettered Shogun

The Unfettered Shogun

Jan. 01, 1978
Your rating: 0
8.3 6 votes

Seasons and episodes

1Season 1 Jan. 01, 1978
3Season 3 Jan. 01, 1988
4Season 4 Apr. 06, 1991
6Season 6 Jan. 01, 1994
7Season 7 Jan. 17, 2019
8Season 8 Jan. 17, 2019
11Season 11 Jan. 17, 2019
12Season 12 Jan. 17, 2019





    Set in the eighteenth century, it showed fictitious events in the life of Yoshimune, the eighth Tokugawa shogun. The program started in 1978 under the title Yoshimune Hyobanki: Abarenbo Shogun. After a few seasons, they shortened the first two words and ran for two decades under the shorter title until the series ended in 2003; a two-hour special aired in 2004. The earliest scripts occasionally wove stories around historic events such as the establishment of firefighting companies of commoners in Edo, but eventually the series adopted a routine of strictly fiction.

    Along with Zenigata Heiji and Mito Kōmon, it ranks among the longest-running series in the jidaigeki genre. Like so many other jidaigeki, it falls in the category of kanzen-chōaku, loosely, “rewarding good and punishing evil.”

    The Unfettered Shogun
    Original title 暴れん坊将軍
    First air date Jan. 01, 1978
    Last air date Jan. 01, 1994
    Seasons 12
    Episodes 177
    Duration 45m

    Similar titles

    Leave a comment

    Name *
    Add a display name
    Email *
    Your email address will not be published